There are days…

 

cf8e7e2621807abe05d47b38100dc438
Hmmm!! I don’t even have a response to that one…

There have been many days like this lately. Poor John! I know I am not the easiest person to deal with at times, nor do I make the best choices, but one thing is for sure.

 

I am so unbelievably lucky to have him!

I was doing my daily scroll through Pinterest-land…you know the kind, where you get on for a quick peek at what’s new, and 2 hours later you’re still on? While I was scrolling through, I came across a Pin a friend of mine liked. It was 30-days of journal prompts on being grateful. I will share the link with you if any of you are interested. But I thought to myself, what a great way to build a positive outlook! Surely I can find something I am grateful for on a daily basis, and maybe 30 days of it will create a healthy habit.

I will come back to this post, and add something I am grateful for each day. Here is the link to 30 Days of Gratitude

So here I go (and since I am starting with John I will make sure my numbers coincide with each entry so scroll on to #20):

#1 – What smell am I grateful for today? – Coffee! Always coffee!! It is the first thing I look forward to in the mornings, and just the smell makes my morning grumpiness subside.

#2 – What technology am I grateful for? My smartphone! I feel lost without it. I Google everything, I keep up with family and friends with it, and I stalk my daughter’s cell activity with it! Yes I am one of those moms!! She is not an adult and this is a dangerous world we live in today.

#3 – What color am I grateful for?I don’t necessarily have a favorite color, but today it’s Yellow. I love the sun, and I am by no means a winter person (even though this “winter” has been pretty mild with the exception of some snowflakes blowing by). Have to love living in the South!

#4 – What food am I grateful for?  Potatoes! Letting my Irish heritage shine through there, huh? They are my go to comfort food, prepared any way you’d like.

#5 – What sound am I grateful for? – I am grateful for my normal everyday Hum. You know the hum of the air/heat running, the sound of normal everyday traffic going by, the hum of the copier as you work? After a weekend of the every channel talking about women marching, the quiet Hummmm is most pleasant!

#6 – What in nature am I grateful for? – The changing of the seasons. I love how the colors flow from one season to the next reminding us that change is inevitable.

#7 – What memory am I grateful for? – I am grateful for every memory I have of my mom. She passed almost 22 years ago, and it’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think of her.

#8 – What book am I grateful for?  – I love books so picking one would be extremely hard, so I have to say that most of Nora Roberts’ books would be my favorite.  I love her stories of Ireland.

#9 – What place am I grateful for? – Home! It’s somewhere that I feel like get to spend very little time with work, commuting to work, and having kids. I try to enjoy my down time at home as much as I can.

#10 – What taste am I grateful for today?It may sound strange but I am grateful for the taste of eggs. I had eggs in my Chinese food last night and they were delicious and my egg intolerance didn’t react.

#11 – What holiday am I grateful for? – Easter has always been my favorite holiday. All the new bright colors coming to life, flowers blooming, and my Christian beliefs.

#12 – What texture am I grateful for? Soft and plush textures today. It’s been my laziest of lazy days.

#13 – What abilities am I grateful for? – I am most grateful for my ability to use my mind. I am not getting into the political debates, but the lack of common sense and fact checking really blows me away. But I love all my abilities…crafting, drawing, cooking, and being able to consume unlimited amounts of coffee without that buzzed effect.

#14 – What sight am I grateful for? – I am grateful for my sight period! Having a father who is in his “platinum years” 😉 with deteriorating eyesight, I certainly appreciate mine. I am blessed to be 22 days away from 40 and go through my daily life without glasses or contacts!

#15 – What season am I grateful for? – I love Spring! Flowers blooming, bright new colors replacing the dormant colors of Winter, Easter, warmer weather, the fresh air…I love it!

#16 – What about my body am I grateful for? – I am just grateful that I haven’t lost any organs in at least 2 years. 😀

#17 – What knowledge am I grateful for?For knowing when I am at my breaking point, and that a cry is good for me. After that cry I can come back stronger, but the cry has to happen.

#18 – What piece of art am I grateful for? – I am thankful for musical arts. Music helps me in so many ways.

#19 – What touch am I grateful for today? – My youngest daughter’s hugs! I needed one in the worst way. A hug can heal so much.

#20 –  Who am I grateful for? – I am grateful for John, and all the love he gives me. I do not know what I would do without him. He picks me up when I am down, makes me laugh when it’s hard to smile, and most of all he loves me in return for the love I have for him.

#21 – What song am I most grateful for? – What??? I can’t pick just one. I love music of all kinds, but if I have to pick one for today….Magic Carpet Ride by Steppenwolf! I swear I was meant to be a 60’s child.

#22 – What story am I grateful for? – I am grateful for my story. Sometimes sitting back and looking at my life, I am very proud of myself for not becoming anything other than what I have.

#23 – What tradition am I grateful for? – So many have come and gone throughout the years, but I am most grateful for the one that has remained as close to the same as possible. Our Christmas BBQ. Gathering with my family, sometimes friends, and just cooking and laughing together in the yard is the best. We’re all getting older, and a few are missing but I love it still the same.

#24 – What challenge am I grateful for? – I am grateful for this challenge, even though I have not been posting daily. It has worked to remind that there is something in every single day to be grateful for.

#25 – What moment am I grateful for this week? I am certainly grateful my daughter is out of the hospital and on the mend, but other than that I was so unbelievably happy to see 5 o’clock on Friday!

  • A little side note – I am grateful for this challenge but for the life of me I cannot remember to do this everyday. 🙂

#26 – What form of expression am I grateful for? – Smiles! I love smiling and I greet everyone I meet with a smile. I was made aware of my “resting bitch face” years ago and I have made it point to smile more and appear more welcoming.

#27 – What small thing that I use daily am I grateful for? – My cellphone…always my cellphone. It entertains me, helps me, and plays hide and seek with me 😀

#28 – What small thing happened to me today that I am grateful for? – I love a Goodwill store! Absolutely love them! And today the goodwill shopping gods were smiling down on me. I found a Nine West fuchsia tank top with the tags still on it  for $4!!! The original price was $59.00! Yay me!!!

#29 – What friend or family member am I grateful for today? – All of them!!! Seriously? They all make me happy and/or drive me crazy at the same time. I love them all!

#30 – What talent or skill am I grateful for today? – I am grateful for my organizational skills. Lord knows I need them at this job.

Leave a Reply

